Home Better Newspaper Contest

2019 Better Newspaper Contest Rules and Category Descriptions:

2019 MNA BNC Rules and Category Descriptions

2019 Better Newspaper Contest Online Entry Instructions:

2019 MNA BNC Online Entry Instructions - Members

2019 Better Newspaper Contest Awards

Congratulations to all our first, second and third place winners of the 2019 Better Newspaper Contest Awards held at the 134th annual convention of the Montana Newspaper Association held on June 7 & 8 in Big Sky, Mont.

The top awards were presented to:

Billings Gazette – The Sam Gilluly Award for Best Daily Newspaper in Montana

Flathead Beacon – The Thomas Dimsdale Award for Best Weekly Newspaper in Montana

Roger Day, Blackfoot Valley Dispatch – Mel Ruder Photograph of the Year Award

Ekalaka Eagle – Division 1 Newspaper General Excellence

Whitefish Pilot – Division 2 Newspaper General Excellence

Lewistown News-Argus – Division 3 Newspaper General Excellence

Flathead Beacon – Division 4 Newspaper General Excellence

Billings Gazette – Division 5 Newspaper General Excellence


The winners of the 2019 Better Newspaper Contest:


Examples 2019 Better Newspaper Contest Entries:


The winners of the 2019 Better Newspaper Contest with Judge's Comments:

2019 MNA BNC results with judges' comments


The winners of the 2018 Better Newspaper Contest:


The Winners of the 2017 Better Newspaper Contest:


The winners of the 2016 Better Newspaper Contest: 


The winners of the 2015 Better Newspaper Contest:


The winners of the 2014 Better Newspaper Contest:


The winners of the 2013 Better Newspaper Contest: