Home Montana Newspaper Hall of Fame

This award, created in 1958, is given by the Montana Newspaper Association to honor deceased Montana journalists who, during their lifetime, made outstanding contributions to the profession, the arts and their community.

Appropriate Hall of Fame plaques honoring each designee are displayed in the Don Anderson Journalism Building at the University of Montana in Missoula, Montana.

Recipients of the Montana Newspaper Hall of Fame:

Recipients of the Montana Newspaper Hall of Fame Award
Name Year
Arthur L. Stone 1958
O.S. Warden 1958
Joseph D. Scanlan 1958
John H. Durston 1958
Harry J. Kelly 1959
Capt. James H. Mills 1961
Harry B. Brooks 1962
Thomas J. Dimsdale 1962
William M. Bole 1963
Cornelius Hedges 1965
John A. Gilluly 1965
Joseph Kinsey Howard 1967
Harry N. Blake 1968
Miles Romney, Sr. 1969
Charles Doherty 1970
W.K. Harber 1971
Dan Whetstone 1972
George Hoole 1972
Tom Stout 1973
Martin J. Hutchens 1974
Burley Bowler 1976
Gurnie M. Moss 1978
Ray Rocene 1980
Miles Romney, Jr. 1982
T.J. “Joe” Hocking 1983
Don Anderson 1984
Robert N. Sutherlin 1985
William H. Sutherlin 1985
Alexander Rhone 1989
Sam Gilluly 1990
Dorothy Marie Johnson 1991
John F. Kavanagh 1992
A.B. Guthrie, Jr. 1994
Fred J. Martin 1996
Harry L. Billings 1997
Alexander Warden 1998
Harry Downs, Sr. 1999
Bessie K. Monroe 2001
Mel Ruder 2002
C. Patrick King 2003
Glenn F. Sorlie 2003
Helen Peterson 2004
Larry C. Bowler 2005
Daniel Webster Tilton 2005
William D. “Scotty” James 2006
Gretchen Garber Billings 2007
Ken Byerly 2008
Ila Mae Forbregd 2009
Irvin Hutchison 2010
Harold G. “Hal” Stearns 2011
Terry Dwyer 2012
Verle L. Rademacher 2014
Lyle K. Williams 2015
Charles Harwood Allan 2016
Suzanne “Sue” Hart 2017
Ed Coyle 2018
William Richard “Dick” Crockford II 2018
Robert “Bob” Gilluly 2019