Home Master Editor/Publisher Award Winners

This award is given by the Montana Newspaper Association to persons, nominated by their peers, who are actively engaged in editing and/or publishing a newspaper which is a member in good standing of the MNA, or to a person who is retired from a MNA newspaper in good standing.

The selection is based upon:

  • Contributions to the MNA and the profession of journalism
  • Record of service in the profession
  • Influence on others in the profession
  • Esteem of fellow journalists
  • An honorable personal life
Recipients of the Montana Newspaper Association Master Editor/Publisher Award
Name Newspaper Year
Ken Byerly Lewistown News-Argus 1991
Frank Burke Glendive Ranger-Review 1991
Nathaniel Blumberg U of M J-School 1991
Louise Rasmussen Roundup Record-Tribune 1991
Hal Stearns The Times-Clarion 1991
Mel Ruder Hungry Horse News 1991
K.A. Eggensperger Sanders County Ledger 1992
John F. Kavanagh Shelby Promoter 1992
Brian Kennedy Hungry Horse News 1992
Irvin Hutchison Liberty County Times 1993
George Remington Billings Gazette 1993
Verle Rademacher Meagher County News 1993
Harry Downs The Herald-News 1994
Bruce K. Smith Bozeman Daily Chronicle 1994
John Talbot Missoulian 1994
Frank Datta Wibaux Pioneer-Gazette 1995
Dean Neitz Anaconda Leader 1995
Helen Peterson Hardin Herald 1995
Charles W. Walk Independent Record 1995
William D. James Great Falls Tribune 1996
Wayne E. Schile Billings Gazette 1997
Robert C. McGiffert U of M J-School 1998
Dwight Tracy Havre Daily News 1999
Richard Wesnick Billings Gazette 2000
Daniel A. Black Daily Inter Lake 2001
Jerry Miller The Times-Clarion 2002
John Watson Miles City Star 2002
Milt & Gloria Wester Laurel Outlook 2002
Don Coe The Plainsman 2003
Devon H. Sorlie High Country Independent Press 2003
Terry Dwyer Great Falls Tribune 2004
Marc & Ginny Wilson Bigfork Eagle 2004
Lloyd G. Schermer Missoulian 2005
Dale & Beccy Oberly Big Timber Pioneer 2005
Robert "Bob" Gilluly Great Falls Tribune 2006
Richard C. "Dick" Berger Cascade Courier 2007
Sally Campbell Anaconda Leader 2007
Brian & LeAnne Kavanagh Cut Bank Pioneer Press 2008
Rick Weaver Bozeman Daily Chronicle 2008
Dick Crockford Dillon Tribune 2009
Jeff & Melody Martinsen Choteau Acantha 2010
Janice Anderson Boulder Monitor 2011
Tom Kurdy Daily Inter Lake 2012
Gary Moseman Great Falls Tribune 2012
Dan Killoy Miles City Star 2013
Libby Berndt Sidney Herald 2013
Jim Strauss Great Falls Tribune 2014
Stephanie Pressly Bozeman Daily Chronicle 2015
Greg Corr Whitehall Ledger 2015
Matt Gibson Missoula Independent 2016
Burley & Rozlynn Bowler Daniels County Leader 2017
Darla Downs The Herald-News 2018
Mike Gulledge Billings Gazette 2019
Chad Knudson Glendive Ranger-Review 2021
David McCumber Montana Standard 2022