Home Distinguished Service Award

Dick Crockford Distinguished Service Award

Dick Crockford Distinguished Service Award (DSA) recipients are newspaper employees honored for valuable contributions to the newspaper profession and to their communities. A DSA recipient can be any member of a newspaper staff, including but not limited to editorial, advertising, circulation, distribution, production, accounting and management personnel.

To be eligible for selection, nominees must be employees or former employees of Montana newspapers or must be associated with a university, college or newspaper association having close ties with Montana newspapers.

Selection criteria:

  • Nominees shall have contributed in a significant manner to their newspaper and to their community, or to the newspaper industry in general.
  • Nominees shall be generally considered to be persons of positive moral character
  • Nominees shall be persons who are held in high regard by their peers.

Other considerations:

Nominations for the DSA must be made from within newspaper ranks by peers, supervisors or others who are personally knowledgeable about those they nominate.

  • While employment longevity may be considered, it is not necessarily a requirement for selection.
Recipients of the Montana Newspaper Association Distinguished Service Award
Name Newspaper Year
Don La Baugh Lewistown News-Argus 2018
Bill Vander Weele Sidney Herald 2018
Cindy Sease Bozeman Daily Chronicle 2019
Theresa “Terry” Trang Glasgow Courier 2019