129th Annual Montana Newspaper Association Convention

The 129th Annual Convention of the Montana Newspaper Association was held June 12 – 14, in Butte, Montana.

At the annual meeting, Cindy Sease, Bozeman Daily Chronicle, was elected President; Matt Bunk, The Western News, was elected 1st Vice President; Jacques Rutten, Lewistown News-Argus, was elected 2nd Vice President and Darla Downs, The Herald-News, was elected 3rd Vice President.

Jeff Martinsen, Choteau Acantha, was elected President of the Montana Newspaper Advertising Service.

Jim Strauss, Editor and Publisher, Great Falls Tribune was honored with the Master Editor-Publisher Award for his significant contributions to the Montana newspaper industry and Montana Newspaper Association.

Verle L. Rademacher, 1937 – 2008, was inducted into the Montana Newspaper Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame was, established by the Montana Newspaper Association and the University of Montana School of Journalism, and honors Montana journalists who have made outstanding contributions to the profession, the arts, and their community.

The Better Newspaper Contest Awards, judged by the Nevada Press Association, were presented at the June 14 banquet emceed by Butte historian and teacher, Chris Fisk.


The top awards were presented to:

Bozeman Daily Chronicle                                      The Sam Gilluly Award – Best Daily Newspaper in Montana

Flathead Beacon                                                      The Thomas Dimsdale Award – Best Weekly Newspaper in Montana

Caleb M. Soptelean, Bigfork Eagle                       Mel Ruder Photograph of the Year Award

The Big Timber Pioneer                                         Division 1 Weekly Newspaper General Excellence

Whitefish Pilot                                                         Division 2 Weekly Newspaper General Excellence

Flathead Beacon                                                      Division 3 Weekly Newspaper General Excellence

Bozeman Daily Chronicle                                      Division 4 Daily Newspaper General Excellence

Great Falls Tribune                                                 Division 5 Daily Newspaper General Excellence


The full presentation of all awards can be found at mtnewspapers.com.


The mission of the Montana Newspaper Association is to advance and sustain the news publishing industry in Montana.

The association has 85 member newspapers and was established in 1885.