Home Better Newspaper Contest



The 2017 Better Newspaper Contest

Awards will be presented at the 132nd MNA Annual Convention Award Banquet at the Yogo Inn in Lewistown on Saturday, June 17, 2017.



The 2016 Better Newspaper Contest

The 2016 Better Newspaper Contest was judged by the West Virginia Press Association.

Billing Gazette – The Sam Gilluly Award for Best Daily Newspaper in Montana

Flathead Beacon – The Thomas Dimsdale Award for Best Weekly Newspaper in Montana

Tom Bauer, Missoulian – Mel Ruder Photograph of the Year Award

The Big Timber Pioneer – Division 1 Newspaper General Excellence

West Yellowstone News – Division 2 Newspaper General Excellence

Whitefish Pilot – Division 3 Newspaper General Excellence

Flathead Beacon – Division 4 Newspaper General Excellence

Billings Gazette – Division 5 Newspaper General Excellence

The 2016 Better Newspaper Contest results with judges’ comments:

2016 MNA BNC Results with Judges Comments

The winners of the 2016 Better Newspaper Contest:


The winners of the 2015 Better Newspaper Contest:


The winners of the 2014 Better Newspaper Contest:


The winners of the 2013 Better Newspaper Contest: